October 2022 Agenda

October 2022 Monthly CAP Meeting
Date: Thursday, October 6, 2022
Time: 1:15 PM
Location: Zoom

  1. Call to Order
  1. Guest Speaker: Lisa Bievenue (Director of Informatics Programs, School of Information Sciences) – The Tale of Two Organizations Advocating for Academic Professionals: CAP and AAP
  2. Executive Committee Elections – Need Vice Chair
    • Lisa M to Vice Chair
    • Lisa B to Secretary/Communications
    • Backfill Secretary or Communications
  3. Public Comment
  4. Review and Approval of Minutes
  5. Chair’s Remarks
    • Committees – Goals for the year
  6. Announcements
  7. Illinois Human Resources Report: Shari Mickey-Boggs, Sr. Assoc Chancellor for Human Resources, Deb Stone, Executive Director, Illinois Human Resources Policy, and Administration.
  8. Academic Senator Reports 
    • District 2: Molly Helgesen
    • District 3: M. Aaron Smith
    • District 4: Stephan Lane
    • District 5: Jessica Harke
    • District 6: Carl Baker
    • District 7: Brian Farber
    • District 8: Gabe Figliuzzi
    • District 9: Jake Metz
    • District 10: Karen McLaughlin
    • District 11: Elizabeth Meschewski
  9. Academic Senate Committee Reports (speak up if you have a report. I am asking you to prepare a short paragraph of current topics and goals for this year and put out in box 
    • Admissions: Jeannette Elliott
    • Budget: Kaamilyah Abdullah-Span
    • Campus Operations: Susan Breakenridge
    • Committees on Committees: Chaya Sandler
    • Educational Policy: Nicole Turner
    • Elections and Credentials: Brian Farber
    • Equal Opportunity and Inclusion: Kaamilyah Abdullah-Span
    • Faculty and Academic Staff Benefits: Matthew Feely (AP), CAP-REP (open), Richard Gegg*
    • General University Policy: Melissa Madsen
    • Information Technology: Mike Bohlmann
    • Joint Advisory Committee on Investment, Licensing, and Naming Rights: William Schlaack
    • Public Engagement and Outreach: Sarah Christensen, Lisa Bievenue
    • Senate Executive Committee (SEC): Rich Gegg *
    • University Statutes & Senate Procedures (USSP): Collin Ruud
    • University Student Life: Tim Flanagin
  1. CAP Committee Reports
    • Campus Administrative Manual Updates: Ann Christine Jones
    • Campus HR Staffing Committee: *OPEN*
    • CAPE Awards Committee: Tina Rolfe, Chaya Sandler
    • Communications Committee: Lisa Bievenue, Lisa Merrifield, Ann Christine Jones
    • Outreach Committee:Brandi Barnes
    • Officer Nominating Committee:John Mahlmeister
    • Procedures and Elections Committee:John Mahlmeister, Brandi Barnes, Lisa Bievenue, Terri Ciofalo
    • Public Safety Advisory Committee:William Alan Schlaack ‘23
    • Racism and Social Injustice:Gio Guerra Perez
    • Recruitment and Retention:Suzana Palaska
    • Special Events Advisory Committee:*OPEN* employee expo
    • University Professional Personnel Advisory Committee: Jeff Stein ‘23, Lisa Merrifield
    • Ad Hoc SAC/CAP Common Interest Areas:Jake Metz
    • Ad Hoc Committee on Bylaws:Jayesh Patel, Mindy Spencer
    • Ad Hoc Employee Well-Being committee: Julie Elzanati
      • Signed up (Tasha Marie Robles, Urias Betoel Escobar, and William Alan Schlaack. https://humanresources.illinois.edu/campus-wellbeing-services/about.html https://intranet.birmingham.ac.uk/hr/wellbeing/index.aspx)
    • Grievance Officer: Brandi Barnes
    • IHR Strategic Initiatives – Training and Employee Development Advisory (TEDAC) Committee Unfinished Business
      • Need someone (at least temporarily) to serve on APDF to finish out existing requests
    • AD HOC CAP Committee on Committees
      • what is active, what can be closed, who needs members
    • AD Hoc Organizational Review Committee
      • Structure  (benefit is you get to set the standard)
        1. Charge doc
        2. Activities doc
        3. Turnover/training notes
        4. Minutes
        5. Annual report
    • Opportunities for AP(s) on Senate committees, and elections are currently active
    • SAC-CAP in July
  1. New Business
    • Grievance Training Slides
    • Election Results
  1. Closed Session – We will NOT have a closed session.
  2. Adjournment

Dates and Locations of CAP Monthly Meetings and CAP-Sponsored Events

Date Location  Notes and Other Events




District 1: Richard Gegg
District 1: Unfilled  
District 2: Elizabeth Gonzalez  
District 2: John Mahlmeister  
District 3: Tasha Robles  
District 3: Unfilled  
District 4: Brandi Barnes  
District 4: Rashmi Tenneti
District 5: Patrick Gavin  
District 5: Suzana Palaska  
District 6: Doug Gucker  
District 6: Lisa Merrifield   
District 7: Mathew Buchi  
District 7: Tina Rolfe  
District 8: Chaya Sandler  
District 8: Drew Schlosser  
District 8: Eric Kurt  
District 9: William Schlaack  
District 10: Julie Elzanati  
District 10: Lisa Bievenue  
District 11: Elizabeth Watts  
District 11: Unfilled