May 2023 Meeting Agenda

Meeting Info

Date: Thursday, May 4, 2023
Time: 1:15 PM
Online Only: Register Via Zoom


  1. Call to Order
    • CAP encourages everyone to make personal decisions and take individual actions that maximize the safety of themselves and our community, wearing a face covering, including getting vaccinated and boosted, and staying home if you aren’t feeling well. However, one of the great pleasures of serving on the Council of Academic Professionals is participating in the vibrant community and dialogue. Moving forward, it might be valuable to re-establish the on-campus monthly CAP meeting. The current plan is to meet as a hybrid group until June 2023 and reevaluate at that point.
  2. Guest Speaker: Chancellor Jones
  3. Public Comment
  4. Review and Approval of Minutes – April 2023
  5. Chair’s Remarks
    • June Meeting In-Person
    • Volunteering for CAP committees
    • As you leave – Turnover
    • Annual Report
  6. Announcements
    • Faculty/Staff Emergency Fund – Christopher Ochs
  7. Illinois Human Resources Report: Brian Farber, Chief of Staff & Special Projects, IHR administration
  8. Academic Senator Reports
    • District 2: Molly Helgesen
    • District 3: M. Aaron Smith/Patricia Simpson
    • District 4: Angela Slates
    • District 5: Jessica Harke
    • District 6: Carl Baker
    • District 7: James Quisenberry
    • District 8: Gabe Figliuzzi
    • District 9: Jake Metz/Belinda Bolivar
    • District 10: Karen McLaughlin
    • District 11: Elizabeth Meschewski
  9. CAP Senate Committees
    • Admissions: Jeannette Elliott
    • Budget: Kaamilyah Abdullah-Span
    • Campus Operations: Susan Breakenridge
    • Committees on Committees: Chaya Sandler
    • Educational Policy: Nicole Turner
    • Elections and Credentials: Open
    • Equal Opportunity and Inclusion: Kaamilyah Abdullah-Span
    • Faculty and Academic Staff Benefits: Matthew Feely (AP), Richard Gegg*
    • General University Policy: Melissa Madsen
    • Information Technology: Mike Bohlmann
    • Joint Advisory Committee on Investment, Licensing, and Naming Rights: William Schlaack
    • Public Engagement and Outreach: Sarah Christensen, Lisa Bievenue
    • Senate Executive Committee (SEC): Rich Gegg *
    • University Statutes & Senate Procedures (USSP): Collin Ruud
    • University Student Life: Trent Shumway
  10. CAP Committee Reports
    • AP Development Fund: Lisa Bievenue, Patrick Gavin, Matt Buchi
    • Campus Administrative Manual Updates: Ann Christine Jones
    • Campus HR Staffing Committee: Needed?
    • Chancellor’s Staff Excellence Award (CSEA): Chaya Sandler
    • Communications Committee: Beth Meschewski
    • Outreach Committee: Brandi Barnes
    • Officer Nominating Committee: Lisa Merrifield, Beth Meschewski
    • Procedures and Elections Committee: Brandi Barnes, Lisa Bievenue, Terri Ciofalo
    • Public Safety Advisory Committee: William Alan Schlaack ‘23
    • Racism and Social Injustice: Gio Guerra Perez
    • Recruitment and Retention: OPEN
    • Special Events Advisory Committee: Rich Gegg employee expo for 2023
    • University Professional Personnel Advisory Committee: Lisa Merrifield
    • Ad Hoc SAC/CAP Common Interest Areas: Jake Metz
    • Ad Hoc Committee on Bylaws: Jayesh Patel, Rich Gegg
    • Ad Hoc Employee Well-Being committee: Julie Elzanati
    • Grievance Officer: Report Tina Rolfe, Brandi Barnes
    • IHR Strategic Initiatives – Training and Employee Development Advisory (TEDAC) Committee Unfinished Business
    • Need someone (at least temporarily) to serve on APDF to finish out existing requests
    • AD HOC CAP Committee on Committees: Rich Gegg, Lisa Merrifield
      • what is active, what can be closed, who needs members
    • AD Hoc Organizational Review Committee
  11. New Business
  12. Closed SessionWe will NOT have closed session
  13. Adjournment