March 2023 Meeting Agenda

Meeting Info

Date: Thursday, March 2, 2023
Time: 1:15 PM
In-Person Location: Alice Campbell Conference Room
Alice Campbell Alumni Center
601 S Lincoln Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
Online: Register Via Zoom


    1. Call to Order
      • CAP encourages everyone to make personal decisions and take individual actions that maximize the safety of themselves and our community, wearing a face covering, including getting vaccinated and boosted, and staying home if you aren’t feeling well. However, one of the great pleasures of serving on the Council of Academic Professionals is participating in the vibrant community and dialogue. Moving forward, it might be valuable to re-establish the on-campus monthly CAP meeting. The current plan is to meet as a hybrid group until June 2023 and reevaluate at that point.
    2. Guest Speaker: Provost Bill Bernhard
    3. Public Comment
    4. Review and Approval of Minutes – February 2023
    5. Chair’s Remarks
      • CAP Statement to Committee on Committees – balanced membership
      • By-Law changes
    6. Announcements
    7. Illinois Human Resources Report: Shari Mickey-Boggs, Sr. Assoc Chancellor for Human Resources, Deb Stone, Executive Director, Illinois Human Resources Policy, and Administration.
    8. Academic Senator Reports
      • District 2: Molly Helgesen
      • District 3: M. Aaron Smith
      • District 4: vacant
      • District 5: Jessica Harke
      • District 6: Carl Baker
      • District 7: vacant
      • District 8: Gabe Figliuzzi
      • District 9: Jake Metz
      • District 10: Karen McLaughlin
      • District 11: Elizabeth Meschewski
    9. Academic Senate Committee Reports – goals
    10. CAP Senate Committees
      • Admissions: Jeannette Elliott
      • Budget: Kaamilyah Abdullah-Span
      • Campus Operations: Susan Breakenridge
      • Committees on Committees: Chaya Sandler
      • Educational Policy: Nicole Turner
      • Elections and Credentials: Brian Farber
      • Equal Opportunity and Inclusion: Kaamilyah Abdullah-Span
      • Faculty and Academic Staff Benefits: Matthew Feely (AP), CAP-REP (open), Richard Gegg*
      • General University Policy: Melissa Madsen
      • Information Technology: Mike Bohlmann
      • Joint Advisory Committee on Investment, Licensing, and Naming Rights: William Schlaack
      • Public Engagement and Outreach: Sarah Christensen, Lisa Bievenue
      • Senate Executive Committee (SEC): Rich Gegg *
      • University Statutes & Senate Procedures (USSP): Collin Ruud
      • University Student Life: OPEN
    11. CAP Committee Reports
      • AP Development Fund: Lisa Bievenue; Patrick Gavin; Matt Buchi
      • Campus Administrative Manual Updates: Ann Christine Jones
      • Campus HR Staffing Committee: *OPEN
      • Chancellor’s Staff Excellence Award (CSEA): Chaya Sandler
      • Communications Committee: Beth Meschewski
      • Outreach Committee: Brandi Barnes
      • Officer Nominating Committee: Lisa
      • Procedures and Elections Committee: Brandi Barnes, Lisa Bievenue, Terri Ciofalo
      • Public Safety Advisory Committee: William Alan Schlaack ‘23
      • Racism and Social Injustice: Gio Guerra Perez
      • Recruitment and Retention: Suzana Palaska
      • Special Events Advisory Committee: Rich Gegg, *Others??* employee expo for 2023?
      • University Professional Personnel Advisory Committee: Lisa Merrifield
      • Ad Hoc SAC/CAP Common Interest Areas: Jake Metz
      • Ad Hoc Committee on Bylaws: Jayesh Patel, Mindy Spencer
      • Ad Hoc Employee Well-Being committee: Julie Elzanati
      • Grievance Officer: Brandi Barnes
      • IHR Strategic Initiatives – Training and Employee Development Advisory (TEDAC) Committee Unfinished Business: Ty Godard
        • Need someone (at least temporarily) to serve on APDF to finish out existing requests
      • AD HOC CAP Committee on Committees
        • what is active, what can be closed, who needs members
      • AD Hoc Organizational Review Committee
    12. New Business
      • By-Laws re-write.
      • Committee on Statutes changes
    13. Closed Session – We will have closed session
    14. Adjournment

Dates and Locations of CAP Monthly Meetings and CAP-Sponsored Events

Date Location  Notes and Other Events
04/06/2023 Alice Campbell & ZOOM President Killeen (questions to be submitted by Monday, March 27)
05/04/2023 Alice Campbell & ZOOM OAE


 Representative  Attendance
District 1: Richard Gegg
District 1: Unfilled
District 2: Elizabeth Gonzalez
District 2: John Mahlmeister
District 3: Tasha Robles
District 3: Unfilled
District 4: Brandi Barnes
District 4: Rashmi Tenneti
District 5: Patrick Gavin
District 5: Suzana Palaska
District 6: Doug Gucker
District 6: Lisa Merrifield
District 7: Mathew Buchi
District 7: Tina Rolfe
District 8: Chaya Sandler
District 8: Unfilled
District 8: Eric Kurt
District 9: William Schlaack
District 10: Julie Elzanati
District 10: Lisa Bievenue
District 11: Elizabeth Watts
District 11: Beth Meschewski