University Senate

The following is from the Senate website, The Senate on the Urbana-Champaign campus is a legislative body comprised of 200 faculty and 50 students. Duties of senate committees are specified in the Senate Bylaws. The current Senate Executive Committee (SEC) Chair is Professor Joyce Tolliver.

The University of Illinois Statutes, Article II, Section 1 (read here), provide for a senate to be constituted at each campus of the University, to exercise legislative functions in matters of educational policy such as the Academic Calendar, requirements for admission to colleges and schools, and requirements for degrees and certificates.

Each senate shall also recommend candidates for honorary degrees, and may propose amendments to the Statutes through the University Senates Conference to the President and the Board of Trustees.

On November 9, 2009, the University Senate approved the addition of an Other Academic Staff electorate to the Senate, as well as changes to the Faculty electorate. This decision was an important one for giving APs a voice in the Senate, and one that CAP has worked toward for years.