February 2023 Meeting Agenda

Date: Thursday, February 2, 2023
Time: 1:15 PM
Location: online only via Zoom


  1. Call to Order
    • CAP encourages everyone to make personal decisions and take individual actions that maximize the safety of themselves and our community, wearing a face covering, including getting vaccinated and boosted, and staying home if you aren’t feeling well.  However, one of the great pleasures of serving on the Council of Academic Professionals is participating in the vibrant community and dialogue. Moving forward, it might be valuable to re-establish the on-campus monthly CAP meeting.  The current plan is to meet as a hybrid group until June 2023 and reevaluate at that point.
  2. Guest Speaker: None
  3. Public Comment
  4. Review and Approval of Minutes
    • December 2022
  5. Chair’s Remarks
    • Hybrid going forward.
    • CAP Statement to Elections and Credentials
    • CAP Statement to Committee on Committees – balanced membership
    • Chancellor’s Staff Excellence Award (CSEA)The CSEA Program combines the Chancellor’s Academic Professional Excellence (CAPE) award and the Chancellor’s Distinguished Staff Award (CDSA) into a unified Chancellor’s staff award program. This approach allows our campus to adopt a single program with one set of rules and protocols to recognize and reward exemplary staff service, establishing university-wide visibility. 
  6. Announcements
  7. Illinois Human Resources Report: Shari Mickey-Boggs, Sr. Assoc Chancellor for Human Resources, Deb Stone, Executive Director, Illinois Human Resources Policy, and Administration.
  8. Academic Senator Reports
    • District 2: Molly Helgesen
    • District 3: M. Aaron Smith
    • District 4: vacant
    • District 5: Jessica Harke
    • District 6: Carl Baker
    • District 7: vacant
    • District 8: Gabe Figliuzzi
    • District 9: Jake Metz
    • District 10: Karen McLaughlin
    • District 11: Elizabeth Meschewski
  9. Academic Senate Committee Reports – goals
  10.    CAP Senate Committees
    • Admissions: Jeannette Elliott
      • Meets 2 a year
    • Budget: Kaamilyah Abdullah-Span
    • Campus Operations: Susan Breakenridge
    • Committees on Committees: Chaya Sandler
    • Educational Policy: Nicole Turner
    • Elections and Credentials: Brian Farber
    • Equal Opportunity and Inclusion: Kaamilyah Abdullah-Span
    • Faculty and Academic Staff Benefits: Matthew Feely (AP), CAP-REP (open), Richard Gegg*
    • General University Policy: Melissa Madsen
    • Information Technology: Mike Bohlmann
    • Joint Advisory Committee on Investment, Licensing, and Naming Rights: William Schlaack
    • Public Engagement and Outreach: Sarah Christensen, Lisa Bievenue
    • Senate Executive Committee (SEC): Rich Gegg *
    • University Statutes & Senate Procedures (USSP): Collin Ruud
    • University Student Life: OPEN
  11. CAP Committee Reports
    • Campus Administrative Manual Updates: Ann Christine Jones
    • Campus HR Staffing Committee:*OPEN
    • Communications Committee: Beth Meschewski
    • Outreach Committee: Brandi Barnes
    • Officer Nominating Committee: Lisa
    • Procedures and Elections Committee: Brandi Barnes, Lisa Bievenue, Terri Ciofalo
    • Public Safety Advisory Committee: William Alan Schlaack ‘23
    • Racism and Social Injustice: Gio Guerra Perez
    • Recruitment and Retention: Suzana Palaska
    • Special Events Advisory Committee:*OPEN* employee expo for 2023?
    • University Professional Personnel Advisory Committee: Jeff Stein ‘23, Lisa Merrifield full on the 18th
    • Ad Hoc SAC/CAP Common Interest Areas: Jake Metz
    • Ad Hoc Committee on Bylaws: Jayesh Patel, Mindy Spencer
    • Ad Hoc Employee Well-Being committee: Julie Elzanati
      • Signed up (Tasha Marie Robles, Urias Betoel Escobar, and William Alan Schlaack. https://humanresources.illinois.edu/campus-wellbeing-services/about.html https://intranet.birmingham.ac.uk/hr/wellbeing/index.aspx)
    • Grievance Officer: Brandi Barnes
    • IHR Strategic Initiatives – Training and Employee Development Advisory (TEDAC) Committee Unfinished Business: Ty Godard
    • Need someone (at least temporarily) to serve on APDF to finish out existing requests
    • AD HOC CAP Committee on Committees
      • what is active, what can be closed, who needs members
    • AD Hoc Organizational Review Committee
  12. New Business
    • By-Laws re-write
    • Committee on Statutes changes
  13. Closed Session – We will NOT have a closed session.
  14. Adjournment

Dates and Locations of CAP Monthly Meetings and CAP-Sponsored Events

Date Location  Notes and Other Events
02/02/2023 Hybrid
03/02/2023 Provost Bill Bernhard
04/06/2023 Hybrid President Killeen (questions to be submitted by Monday, March 27)
05/04/2023 OAE


 Representative  Attendance
District 1: Richard Gegg
District 1: Unfilled
District 2: Elizabeth Gonzalez
District 2: John Mahlmeister
District 3: Tasha Robles
District 3: Unfilled
District 4: Brandi Barnes
District 4: Rashmi Tenneti
District 5: Patrick Gavin
District 5: Suzana Palaska
District 6: Doug Gucker
District 6: Lisa Merrifield
District 7: Mathew Buchi
District 7: Tina Rolfe
District 8: Chaya Sandler
District 8: Unfilled
District 8: Eric Kurt
District 9: William Schlaack
District 10: Julie Elzanati
District 10: Lisa Bievenue
District 11: Elizabeth Watts
District 11: Beth Meschewski