September 2022 Agenda

September 2022 Monthly CAP Meeting
Date: Thursday, September 1, 2022
Time: 1:15 PM
Location: Zoom 

  1. Call to Order
  1. Guest Speaker: NONE
  2. Executive Committee Elections – Need Vice Chair
  3. Public Comment
  4. Review and Approval of Minutes
    • July 2022
  5. Chair’s Remarks
    • Welcome back!
    • BOT
    • Committees – Goals for the year
    • IHR Strategic Initiatives’ Training and Employee Development Advisory Committee (TEDAC) membership for a CAP leader
  6. Announcements
  7. Illinois Human Resources Report: Shari Mickey-Boggs, Sr. Assoc Chancellor for Human Resources, Deb Stone, Executive Director, Illinois Human Resources Policy, and Administration.
  8. Academic Senator Reports (concluded its meetings for the semester.  Reconvene Fall)
    • District 2: Molly Helgesen
    • District 3: M. Aaron Smith
    • District 4: Stephan Lane
    • District 5: Jessica Harke
    • District 6: Carl Baker
    • District 7: Brian Farber
    • District 8: Gabe Figliuzzi
    • District 9: Jake Metz
    • District 10: Karen McLaughlin
    • District 11: Elizabeth Meschewski
  9. Academic Senate Committee Reports ( probably not meeting, speak up if you have a report. I am asking you to prepare a short paragraph of current topics and goals for this year and put out in box
    • Admissions: Jeannette Elliot
    • Budget: Kaamilyah Abdullah-Spa
    • Campus Operations: Susan Breakenridg
    • Committees on Committees: Chaya Sandler
    • Educational Policy: Nicole Turne
    • Elections and Credentials: Brian Farbe
    • Equal Opportunity and Inclusion: Kaamilyah Abdullah-Spa
    • Faculty and Academic Staff Benefits: Matthew Feely (AP), CAP-REP (open), Richard Gegg
    • General University Policy: Melissa Madse
    • Information Technology: Mike Bohlman
    • Joint Advisory Committee on Investment, Licensing, and Naming Rights: William Schlaac
    • Public Engagement and Outreach: Sarah Christensen, Lisa Bievenu
    • Senate Executive Committee (SEC): Rich Gegg
    • University Statutes & Senate Procedures (USSP): Collin Ruud
    • University Student Life: Tim Flanagin
  10. CAP Committee Report
    • Campus Administrative Manual Updates:Ann Christine Jone
    • Campus HR Staffing Committee:*OPEN
    • CAPE Awards Committee: Tina Rolfe, Chaya Sandle
    • Communications Committee:Lisa Bievenue, Lisa Merrifield, Ann Christine Jone
    • Outreach Committee:Brandi Barne
    • Officer Nominating Committee:John Mahlmeiste
    • Procedures and Elections Committee:John Mahlmeister, Brandi Barnes, Lisa Bievenue, Terri Ciofal
    • Public Safety Advisory Committee:*OPEN
    • Racism and Social Injustice:Gio Guerra Pere
    • Recruitment and Retention:Suzana Palaska
    • Special Events Advisory Committee:*OPEN* employee exp
    • University Professional Personnel Advisory Committee: John Mahlmeister, Lisa Merrifield
  11. CAP Ad Hoc Committees
    • Ad Hoc SAC/CAP Common Interest Areas:Jake Met
    • Ad Hoc Committee on Bylaws:Jayesh Patel, Mindy Spence
    • Ad Hoc Employee Well-Being committee: Julie Elzanati
      • Signed up (Tasha Marie Robles, Urias Betoel Escobar, and William Alan Schlaack.
    • Grievance Officer: Brandi Barnes
    • IHR Strategic Initiatives – Training and Employee Development Advisory (TEDAC) Committee Unfinished Business
      • Need someone (at least temporarily) to serve on APDF to finish out existing requests
    • AD HOC CAP Committee on Committees
      • what is active, what can be closed, who needs members
    • AD Hoc Organizational Review Committee
      • Structure (benefit is you get to set the standard)
        1. Charge doc
        2. Activities doc
        3. Turnover/training notes
        4. Minutes
        5. Annual report
    • Opportunities for AP(s) on Senate committees, and elections are currently active
    • SAC-CAP in July
  1. New Business
    • Grievance Training Slides
    • Election Results
  1. Closed Session – We will NOT have a closed session.
  2. Adjournment

Dates and Locations of CAP Monthly Meetings and CAP-Sponsored Events

Date Location  Notes and Other Events
09/01/2022 Grievance Training


District 1: Richard Gegg X
District 1: Unfilled  
District 2: Elizabeth Gonzalez  
District 2: John Mahlmeister  
District 3: Tasha Robles  
District 3: Unfilled  
District 4: Brandi Barnes  
District 4: Rashmi Tenneti EX
District 5: Patrick Gavin  
District 5: Suzana Palaska  
District 6: Doug Gucker  
District 6: Lisa Merrifield   
District 7: Mathew Buchi  
District 7: Tina Rolfe  
District 8: Chaya Sandler  
District 8: Drew Schlosser  
District 8: Eric Kurt  
District 9: William Schlaack  
District 10: Julie Elzanati  
District 10: Lisa Bievenue  
District 11: Elizabeth Watts  
District 11: Unfilled