February 2018 Minutes

Council of Academic Professionals

Thursday, February 2, 2018, Illini Union 314A

Meeting Minutes submitted by Andrew Reynolds


Attendees: Kristina Miller (1), Maggie Jarvis (3), Leslie Vermillion (3), Andrew Reynolds (4), Judy Van Cleeff (4), Rick Atterberry (5), Mindy Spencer (5), Carl Baker (6), Betoel Escobar (7), Tanisha King-Taylor (7), Brian Brauer (8), Becky Ferrell (9), Nancy Walsh (10), Elizabeth Rockman (10), Beth Hall (11), Jeff Stein (11)


Excused Absences: Richard Gegg (1), Amy Hovious (2), Jenny Ehrnthaller (2), Elizabeth Wahle (6), Chantelle Thompson (8)


  1. Pre-Meeting – Hands-only CPR training provided by Illini Emergency Medical Services (IEMS).


  1. Call to Order – Chair Jeff Stein called the meeting order.


  1. Guest Speaker – Representatives from ODEA spoke on equal employment opportunity and harassment issues; reiterated all employees’ status as mandated reporters; and answered questions related to CAP’s ad-hoc committee on gender-based harassment.


  1. Public Comment – Appreciation for the recent Unit Best Practices brown bag, and a request for previous month’s minutes to be linked in agenda announcements.


  1. Review and Approval Previous Month’s Minutes – Approved as amended by consensus.


  1. Chair’s Remarks (Jeff Stein) – Amy Hovious has latest notes related to AP redistricting proposal. President Killeen will be guest speaker in March. Provost Cangellaris to speak in May, along with new CAP member orientation.


  1. Announcements


  1. Upcoming performances: February Dance, Don Giovanni. Tickets available at Krannert box office.


  1. Committee Reports:
    1. CAPE Awards Committee (Kristina Miller)
      1. All scores submitted. Should have finalist recommendations by February 4.
      2. CAPE Award Ceremony conflicts with WebCon for second year. Work with WebCon committee to avoid future conflicts.
    2. University Professional Personnel Advisory Committee (UPPAC; Jeff Stein)
      1. No news.
    3. Academic Professional Senators
      1. Rick Atterberry – Does not meet in January.
    4. Senate, Campus, and University Committees
      1. January 22 – President’s annual visit to SEC.
      2. January 29 – Chancellor moving forward on critical conversations surrounding free speech, Native American imagery, State Farm center incident, and student government response.
  • No immediate answer to status of 7th Senate review of additional AP seats.
  1. Procedures and Elections (Rebecca Ferrell)
    1. Closed session special election vote on District 9 seat.
    2. Review Senate and CAP election timelines.
  2. Communications Committee (Mindy Spencer)
    1. Website update nearing completion.
    2. Committee is updating and consolidating CAP resources.
  • Chantelle to handle initial review of CAP contact form submissions in order to improve response time.
  1. Grievance (Tanisha King-Taylor) – No closed session.
  2. Ad Hoc Committee on Senate Representation (Jeff Stein)
    1. Revised communications with Chancellor to improve summary. To be submitted.
  3. Ad Hoc Committee on Gender-based Harassment (Mindy Spencer)
    1. Productive meeting. Questions from initial meetings raised with ODEA today.


  1. AHR Report:
    1. No report from AHR.
    2. Jeff Stein: CAP should push for reinstatement of AP Professional Development Fund.


  1. Unfinished Business
    1. None
  1. New Business – None.


  1. Closed Session (called if required) –
    1. District 9 Special Election – George Gottschalk elected.


  1. Adjourned – 3:07 p.m.